Recreated Meme

Standard

The meme that I chose to study and recreate was Rebecca Black’s “Friday”.  From the source of the meme I borrowed the fact that people love Fridays and they get very excited when they are thinking about Friday. After extensive study of the original meme, I decided that the main theme of the meme is that whenever anyone says “It’s Friday!” anymore, someone nearby will either break out in the infamous Rebecca Black song or they will at least be thinking it in thier head.  Going along with this notion, I then figured that when anyone sees a picture of the artist Rebecca Black, they immediately think of the song.  The song then associates the person to thinking about Friday and how much they love Fridays because it leads into the weekend.   Because of these premises, I decided to create a meme which includes Rebecca Black’s face and the caption “Got Friday on the Brain?”  The message shows the connection between seeing a picture of Rebecca Black and thinking of Friday.

I think that if an outside person were to analyze my created meme, they would understand the connection I am trying to make.  I also feel like they would realize when they hear “It’s Friday!” or see Rebecca Black’s face they do make the connection with the song.   My meme changes the original meme slightly by playing less on making fun of the song and video and more by idolizing what the song makes a person think of.  I think the real issue with the song is not how terrible it is and how dumb the lyrics are but instead how it makes us feel about the freedom of Friday and preparing for the weekend.  I think most people would definitely agree with me that Friday tends to be the most exciting day of the week and this song does a great job of idolizing this great day.

This is my recreated meme:

About kimberlybrown22

I am a sophomore student at Southern Illinois University Edwardsville and my major is Physical Education Teacher Education/Biology Education. I love playing sports and hanging out with people. Meeting new people is probably my all time favorite activity though. :)

2 responses »

  1. I love how you did this song for your meme because it’s one of my favorite songs lol. You are right about whenever someone says “it’s Friday” that that song automatically gets stuff in my head. The way you put “on the brain” in your meme was absolutely right about that song and Friday in general. You did a really good job on it! 🙂

  2. Ha! I really like this because it’s simple yet classic. Since everyone knows about this meme it’s really easy to know what you’re talking about and get a great laugh. Not to mention the fact that I can relate and definitely always have Friday on the brain! Great Job!

Leave a Reply

